Skip to main content

Study Group on Climate Change

November 9, 2015

​Dear Students, Faculty and Staff,

Earlier in the fall I announced the formation of a Study Group on Climate Change. I worked with the Board chair, Betty Eveillard, to identify trustee representatives; with Faculty Council to identify faculty representatives; with Staff Council to identify staff representatives; and with the SGA to identify student representatives.

The membership of the Study Group on Climate Change is as follows:

  • Michael Howard, Vice President for Finance and Administration, co-chair
  • Amy Rhodes, Associate Professor of Geosciences, co-chair
  • Eleanor Adachi ’17
  • Neelum Amin ’86, Smith College Board of Trustees
  • Carrie Dohan Buchman ’78, Alumnae Association of Smith College Board of Directors
  • Deanna Dixon, Associate Director of Multicultural Recruitment
  • Raven Fowlkes-Witten ’17
  • Marcia MacHarg ’70, Smith College Board of Trustees
  • Roger Mosier, Associate Vice President for Facilities
  • Bob Newton, Director, Professor of Geosciences and Director of the Center for the Environment, Ecological Design and Sustainability
  • Jasmine Pacheco-Ramos ’19
  • Vis Taraz, Assistant Professor of Economics
  • Beverly Daniel Tatum, Smith College Board of Trustees
  • Dano Weisbord, Director of Campus Sustainability and Space Planning
  • Gregory White, Professor of Government  

After consulting with Faculty Council, Staff Council, and the SGA, the Smith College Board of Trustees recently established an Advisory Committee on Investor Responsibility, which includes the following members:

  • Peggy Eisen ’75, Smith College Board of Trustees, chair    
  • Elliot Fratkin, Professor of Anthropology
  • Michael Howard, Vice President of Finance & Administration
  • Roisin O’Sullivan, Associate Professor of Economics
  • Alison Overseth ’80, Smith College Board of Trustees
  • Debra Romero ’77, Smith College Board of Trustees
  • Emily Schwarz, Budget Director 
  • Elise Smith ’16
  • Gabbi Zutrau ’16

Look for more information about these groups and their work in the coming months


Kathleen McCartney